Franz Liszt, Trois études de concert: Analysis and Discussion

Trois études de concert (“Three Concert Études”), catalog number S.144, are a set of three piano études by Franz Liszt.

Liszt originally published the set as Trois caprices poétiques. According to Hyperion Records, a later French edition of Liszt’s manuscript added the three individual subtitles which have since become the popular names: Il lamento (“The Lament”), La leggierezza (“Lightness”), Un sospiro (“A sigh”)

Étude No. 1, Il lamento

“The Lament”

Étude No. 2, La leggierezza


Étude No. 3, Un sospiro

“A Sigh”

Sponsor: Love typography? Typeface Trivia Playing Cards: 52 cards each showcasing a distinct favorite typeface

Brian E. Young

I'm a graphic designer (portfolio), classical pianist and artist in Baltimore, MD. I host the Uncanny Creativity Podcast helping to demystify the creative process and creator of, an online shop for apparel and games. Twitter: @sketchee

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *